Dear PGA Pros: Take a Page From This Kid's Book

Zach Nash is a 14-year-old highschool golfer from southern Wisconsin. While playing in the Milwaukee County Parks Tour Invitational, Nash was playing rather well. In fact, he played well enough to win and medal in the event. Even his grandparents from Iowa were in attendance to see their grandson's achievement.

Following the victory, Nash made his way to the nearby Rivermore Golf Club; a place where Nash practiced almost every day, often playing 36 holes per visit. At Rivermore, Nash routinely works with his coach and mentor, Chris Wood. The two met at the club to discuss the day's events, Nash's victory, and maybe a little gushing over a new, shiny medal.

However, in the midst of their conversation Wood looks down at Nash's golf bag and notices something out of the ordinary. Wood notices a golf club not normally seen in Nash's possession, so he naturally inquires as to whose club it might be.

Nash then realized that it was his friend's club which he had used to practice with prior to that day's highschool event. As such, Nash then realized he had played the event with 15 clubs. Simply put, Nash unknowingly broke the rules.

The penalty for breaking the rule, called rule 4-4, is two strokes for each hole played with more than 14 clubs, with a maximum of four penalty strokes. But since Nash didn't notice his extra club during the tournament, a penalty wasn't added. That meant he signed an incorrect scorecard, which Nash knew disqualified him.

"I knew right away I couldn't live with myself if I kept this medal, so it was pretty instantaneous," Nash said during a phone interview Wednesday, his first day of high school.

Later that very night, Nash called Andy Landenberger, junior tour director for the WPGA, to explain what happened. Nash then sent back the medal, which Landenberger said he would present to tournament runner-up Dane Reinhardt, who shot an 80.
(Photo courtesy of NBC Sports)
miscAdam Fonseca3 Comments